YA Writing

my booktok savior

I am beyond elated to tell you that I found a booktok reviewer who fell in love with my YA historical, As Gray As Black & White, and my sales are on the rise as a result! Let me tell you what I did:

As you guys know I am horrible when it comes to marketing and this book had been languishing on amazon for three years. I had colleagues read it and review it. Family read it. But beyond my own word of mouth it hadn’t moved. I even did a giveaway last year and 41 people downloaded it but no one reviewed it. I was about to give up. Then when I decided to refocus and begin writing a new book, I felt I needed to give that first novel a better shot. The first thing I did was create an Instagram and TikTok page just for my writing. Then I began looking for readers of my genres who I could follow. I also followed booktokers who read in my genres. And not just followed them, but gave something back by interacting with them. Well, on Monday I responded to a review that was similar to my book and said I had a similar book. And guess what? The reviewer asked me to tell them about mine. I did. She bought my ebook and then DM’d me to say how much she loved it! I kid you not, she said it was the best book she read all year and she was shocked it was by an indie author!

Suffice it to say I was beside myself. And not only that, she left a great review on Goodreads, left comments on all her social media, and created a video on TikTok. So I guess I am saying that this one person – who has 42,000 subscribers and access to thousands of other readers – took the time to read my book and promote it, is making a big difference in the marketing of my book.

So do not be afraid to contact book tok or bookstagram people because they might like your work.

Leave a comment