YA Writing

The Book Promo journey

Most of us cringe at having to promote ourselves. I know I do. And unfortunately that leaves my books languishing online with no sales. As you know I recently returned to writing novels and have been feverishly trying to get my head into the promo game.

I created a TikTok account and have been failing at trying to figure out the ‘secret sauce’ for my books but I am not giving up. I also created an Instagram account and built a new blog just for readers. I even started a newsletter. So yes I am in the trenches now and plan to stick it out for the sake of getting my books in readers’ hands.

That said, I signed on to a site called Shepherd that will promote your book while you promote the books of others. Here is my link on their site:

https://shepherd.com/best-books/exploring-biracial-identity-in-the-20th-century

It looks cool and is a nice way to lift other authors. If you are interested just go to shepherd.com and sign up. Right now it’s free and you can support them by joining their Founding Authors program for $50 a year. I have not done that yet; waiting to see what comes of my involvement. Anyhoo. Just wanted to drop that on you.

Leave a comment