YA Writing

Settling into retirement

It’s been a month since I retired and have been able to write full time. To be honest, it feels weird. Not going to a job every morning. Not having to set an alarm clock. Not expected to be anyplace on any given day (except book signings or religious events). I’m settling in slowly but surely.

It wasn’t until after I did my taxes, and my medicare and social security started, that I began to relax into my new freedom. I noticed a few changes soon after: my stress level is way down and so is my blood pressure. I’m able to walk a mile each day (more if I want to but for now that’s enough), and most importantly I can write all day long. I started out with 3000 words a day and now I can do up to 5000. I was half finished with my new manuscript in the first two weeks, but the third week my husband took a week off and I didn’t write anything LOL.

Most of the month of March was supposed to be resting but as you know from earlier posts I jumped right into marketing. When I made up my mind to be an indie author, I needed to get a few backlist titles published and get my name established. That way I could focus on the writing only and just massage the marketing when needed.

Now that April has begun I am attempting to have a more stable schedule. I listen to the authors on Clubhouse in the morning with my coffee. I eat breakfast, then I start writing. I take a break at lunch and exercise, then I go back to the writing.

I plan to do a little traveling this summer and determine which manuscripts that are sitting in my slush pile will get resurrected and made into a book. I may even write a few sequels to those pubbed titles whose ending alluded to a second book.

All in all, as I said, I’m settling in. Look forward to sharing my new ideas with you. Feel free to share yours.

Leave a comment